Making money online through Niche Marketing

How to Make $10K+ Per Month Online… Without Losing Money on Ad Spend

There’s a ton of advice out there about making money online. And, the promise of getting rich from blogging, affiliate marketing, eCommerce, or coaching is enticing.

You’ve put in the effort to earn your first dollar from digital marketing and you know that you can earn a six-figure income if you make the right moves. But, what should you do after you’ve earned that first buck to make a consistent $10,000+ per month?

If you’ve made some money online, and you’re looking for a way to start earning upwards of $10K+ per month (residually), this guide is for you! 

Here’s what’s in-store: 

What Do I Know About Making Money Online?

When I was in my early 20s, I was still living at home with my parents and wanted to learn how to make some serious money and buy a home. So, I sought out all the different ways to make money and become “financially independent” and I came across real estate as a way to build cash-flow residually and build my net worth.

As a self-starter, I taught myself about the real estate market. In my quest for investment knowledge, I ended up subscribing to a handful of email lists to learn about the latest and greatest systems, and techniques  (you’ve done this too right?). This would eventually introduce me to internet marketing.

I am so happy this was the path I took because not only do I now own many rental properties but after much sweat, tears and frustration, I am finally making a consistent healthy income from internet marketing (well over $10k/mo).

And speaking from experience, internet marketing is a lot more fun and stress free than being a real estate investor.

At first, I was learning some of the old school techniques from guys like Russell Brunson and Armand Morin and Ryan Deiss.  And, in 2006, I decided to implement some of the systems I had learned from a handful of experts. The one system that really stuck out to me was Ryan’s Million Dollar Napkin.

Ryan Deiss – Million Dollar Napkin

I knew this model could work well and create a snowball effect because of how scalable it would be but I only had the idea. I didn’t have the fundamentals of how to put it all together despite buying numerous courses on this (we will come back to this a little later)…

My first online commission was earned from Google Ads via affiliate marketing. I paid for ads on Google that sent leads to a squeeze page using one of the funnel platforms (from over a decade ago). I was promoting some gas rebates MLM (don’t ask) and was hooked on the idea of turning a dollar from ads into two or three dollars from revenue.

The first commission I saw was probably only a few dollars, which didn’t even cover the amount I’d spent on the ads. Still, it proved to me that internet marketing wasn’t just a fantasy. Someone actually saw my offer and bought something! It made it real for me.

But, I’d have to learn how to perfect my processes. And, at this point, I believed that you had to be an advertising expert to generate any real money from digital ads. I thought that for me to figure out how to make a profit on cold advertising, I needed to consume everything I could on being an “ads expert” (boy, was I wrong!).

Fast forward many moons later and I’ve figured something out. A process that works. The “missing link” if you will.

I’ve also created an ad-friendly offer, an offer that does well to cold traffic but also can handle scaling. I run ads to my offer and it doesn’t stress me out because fulfillment is no longer overwhelming. With this new offer, I don’t run one-on-one coaching sessions anymore because fulfillment for a one-on-one service can’t be scaled (there is only one of me).

I’ve changed my offer from something that could only help a few people to something that could help many people. To be more specific I changed it to video training modules, group coaching, and other digital assets as part of the fulfillment.

With this new offer and the consistent Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR) it brings, I’ve stopped worrying about finances, debt and I have more time to spend with my family. I can finally take my kids to the bouncy houses on weekends without worrying so much about client calls and late night texts running my life. And, I want to share my system so that you can duplicate it for yourself. 

The Greatest Challenge You’ll Face Against Earning Six-Figures per Year Online

I stumbled through the world of making money online and it took nearly 10 years before my online earnings were consistent and significant. During this time, I invested in real estate as my primary source of revenue, leaving internet marketing on the backburner as a side project or a system to master later (but I always knew it was my true calling).

All that time, I was wasting cash on ad spend and this prevented me from making any real money online and building a second source of monthly recurring revenue (MRR).

To this day, according to research from Forrester, losing money ad spend is still the greatest challenge online marketers face, followed closely by inaccurate targeting and lost customers. 

The Greatest Challenges Online Marketers Face

When I realized how simple it is to overcome this problem, I was amazed. As it turns out, my beliefs about advertising were all wrong (plus, I was using an outdated funnel with systems from the days of dial-up, so that didn’t help). After letting go of a couple of false beliefs, I was able to turn things around exponentially and fast. 

Today, I’m able to generate five-figures of recurring revenue each month and on track to 3X this number within the next 12 months. Now, I want to share how you can duplicate these results. 

What are the Secrets to Turning $1 Earned Into Earning $10,000 Every Month?

Here, I’m going to reveal the secrets that will turn your side hustle into a lucrative source of income. So, let’s explore how you need to change your mindset and I’ll share actionable advice that will skyrocket your MRR. 

2 Common Myths That Sabotage Your Digital Marketing Success

If you follow suit with false paradigms, you will never achieve the results you want. So, before you do anything else, make sure you don’t believe these myths that will only stand in your way. 

Myths That Sabotage Success

The first myth that will sabotage your ability to earn consistent and lucrative MRR with online marketing is that you must be an advertising expert to turn ad spend into positive cash flow. Yes, you need to understand the basics of PPC. And, with knowledge in this area, you will have a slight edge over competitors. 

But, there’s one invaluable ingredient in a successful digital marketing recipe that has nothing to do with advertising expertise. And, once you learn and implement it, the difference you see in your revenue will blow your mind.

Now, the second myth that you need to leave behind is that the harder you work, the more likely you are to achieve the results you want. Yes, if you work 72 hours per week at a specific hourly rate, you can earn more than you would if you were working 40 hours. So, logically, this makes sense to most people.

But, hours and hours of hard work each week is not the most reliable path to wealth. Plus, if you walk this trail, you’ll miss the point of being wealthy in the first place — you give up quality time spent with your family, travel, and basically kiss your personal life goodbye. So, if you still believe that the more you work, the more you’ll make, let go of this rubbish right now. 

Read on to learn how you can replace these false ideas with a new mindset that will set you on a path to earn a significant MRR for years to come.

Learn the Truth and Replace Your False Beliefs – Beyond a “Wealth Mindset”

You’ve learned the greatest challenge digital marketers face and two of the false beliefs that hold people back. Right about now, you’re probably expecting a motivational “wealth mindset” rant about how you need to believe that you are worthy. And, while that is true, you wouldn’t be here if that’s what you needed to hear (plus, you can find inspirational quotes anywhere). 

Beliefs That Fuel Success

Here, I want you to fully-absorb a couple of truths to replace your pre-existing false beliefs with: 

  1. Being an “offer achiever” trumps advertising knowledge
  2. Wealthy people actually work less to earn more money

Advertising knowledge, while helpful, is nothing compared to creating an offer that is so irresistible that people feel silly not to take advantage of it. So, that’s what you need to create. 

And, wealthy people don’t work more to achieve success. Instead, they learn how to do less to achieve more. For example, I used to spend all-hours trying to solve any problem that came up in my digital marketing business. Now, I ask somebody who knows what they’re doing to help me (hire the best people on web platforms, facebook groups and through referrals). And, I now work less and earn more than ever before.

Now, learn the foundational skills you need to become an offer achiever, work less, and earn a significant MRR. 

Why a Self-Liquidating Offer is Crucial in Digital Marketing

A self-liquidating offer (SLO) is essentially an offer you’ve created that pays for itself. When you implement a self-liquidating offer, you break even. In digital marketing, it is essential to learn mastery over this because once you understand how to break even, it is easy to learn how to scale. Remember that napkin from before? This is what Ryan was trying to teach me.

I sell coaching, information products like ebooks and video training modules to generate income. My sales are almost completely fueled using SLOs from cold Facebook ads. 

How a Self-Liquidating Offer Works

Leads are funneled from Facebook through an ad to an offer for a free report. Then, immediately, my funnel upsells a $47 information product (the free report is sent via email but the viewer sees a special offer that can immediately help them even further).

After that, I immediately try to upsell again to $197 training (Using 1 Click Upsell Feature where the client does not have to re-enter their credit card information). And, if the new customer declines, I have a training version with fewer features that I attempt to down-sell for just $97. 

What really made this magical is that once I mastered self-liquidating offers, making sure that my ads paid for themselves from immediate sales (I broke even), all of my leads (subscribers) essentially became free. But if I had only sold a $47 product, the average cart value would have been lower (meaning I could not spend as much on acquiring that customer), but thanks to the upsells enormous cart value is added. 

Making multiple offers made it possible to spend more to acquire a customer. Plus, both buyers and non-buyers pour into the funnel daily. Non buyers are nurtured through an email series and brought back to the $47 offer. Buyers are nurtured as well and offered a much higher ticket offer (HTO). The high ticket offer is group coaching and this is where the profit and serious income comes into play.

So, if your ad spend is $75 daily, you need to make sure that you earn $75 per day from at least one lead that you funnel to your offer. This is a self-liquidating offer, and it sets the stage for what comes next.

When you scale-out and increase your average daily profit from new, incoming leads to $85, you see an immediate daily profit of $10. In a month, that adds up to around $300. And, when you increase ad spend to $150 daily, your immediate profit for the month doubles to $600. Immediate profit on $300 daily ad spend would be around $1,200 monthly, and so on.  

Now, it doesn’t end there because, when subscribers move through an automated email sequence and as you build rapport with them, (as mentioned previously) you can get some of them to convert on a higher-ticket backend offer.

So, in addition to the immediate value of a customer, sales happen later through our nurturing sequence. You can then make more offers to anyone on the list. This, again, enables you to pay more per customer acquisition, cover the cost of ads, and see real profits start to roll in. 

What is an Offer Achiever and How Can You Become One? 

An offer achiever is someone who creates a product or service that is so compelling and helpful that someone would be foolish to ignore it. And, an offer achiever will generate more success in digital marketing than all the PPC training in the world.

So, what goes into becoming an offer achiever? Offer hacking is a system I learned from Russell Brunson’s One Funnel Away Challenge. Fortunately, it’s not as complicated as you might think. You simply find out what is currently being offered in your market, buy all of your competitor’s products or services and study them. 

  • What are the costs? 
  • What are the benefits? 
  • What are the best features? 
  • Are there any problems with the existing offers? 

Then, you create something that provides significantly more value. 

The odds that you can create something that hasn’t already been thought of are slim. While not impossible to disrupt your industry with a brand new product, it’s not likely. But, using this system, you can instead compile the best parts of the best offers with outstanding results. 

When I was in high school, I had a friend who went around town and asked how much people were paying to have their lawns mowed. If they said they were paying $30, he offered the service for $25 and got the job. He won an entrepreneurial award for this and made quite a bit of money. At that point, this was impressive. But, this is not offer hacking.

If my friend were to have implemented offer hacking, he would have looked at what all the other landscapers were offering in the area as part of their $25 package and made an offer that would seem silly for the clients to turn down.

Look at these two offers for example:

  • Offer A (Regular Boring Offer)
    • Cut Lawn (Value: $25) Price: $25/cut
  • Offer B (Awesome “Offer Stack”)
    • Cut Lawn (Value: $25)
    • Weed Whack (Value: $20)
    • Blow off the grass (Value: $5)
    • Close your gates so your dog doesn’t run away (Value: Priceless)
    • One free spring cleaning (Value: $150)
    • One free fertilization (Value: $150)
    • Total Value: $350 Price: $35/cut

If he stacked offers and provided $350 worth of yard maintenance and charged $35 per cut, he would blow the competitors out of the water. He could have first seen where his neighbors were having challenges with their current landscaper and make an offer that blows his competitors away (the art of offer hacking). It’s not about the price at this point but about the value.

With this example, he would have created an offer with more services like weed whacking, yard debris clean up, fertilization, or other comparable services that provided tremendous value to the customer. Then, he would have been able to give the most value and as a result charge more. In fact, he could have charged even more than $35 a cut and been the highest price in town. But with his customers seeing the value in his offer, they are not as focused on the price.

Even with the spring cleaning and the fertilization costing him a little more per season he is still way ahead for the year with his revenue and profit compared to Offer A.

Here is another quick example. A Ferrari 488 GTB (my dream car) retails for about $330,000. That’s expensive right? But what if it came with a free house? Lifetime house cleaning service? Free gas? Suddenly, your eyes are off the price and you are considering the value.

In the physical product world, it is costly to provide value when offer stacking. We’ve only been discussing tangible items in order to offer stack. A house and free gas and spring cleaning all cost money and are tangible.

But let’s think about the digital world. In the digital world, what does it cost to share a video course and e-book outlining the 5 secrets to getting a perfect credit score? Definitely less than $0.10. But what is the perceived value of such a thing? I mean your credit score directly impacts you financially and influences the interest rate on credit cards, utilities and your mortgage! A video course and e-book like this could easily sell for $47, especially with a good offer stack behind it. But it only costs a few cents to fulfill! So by offer stacking with digital products, you can provide tremendous value to your audience without it costing you much at all! Get it?

Offer hacking works in nearly any product or service niche. One of the key highlights of an offer achiever is that there is no need to worry about competitive pricing because your product or service is so much more valuable than anything else on the market. You don’t have to be the cheapest — you get to be the best. 

For example, Apple did this with the iPhone — cell phones had already been invented and the company simply improved them and fixed issues people were having in the market place (like having to carry one device for music plus one device for phone calls).

In digital marketing, you won’t have to manually clean up anyone’s yard. Instead, you can create a course or informational product one time and profit from it repeatedly. Or, you can go out and ask someone in an adjacent niche for an insider interview that you offer only to your paid members. You might even be able to partner with another brand to offer a free trial of their product or service. This is all part of creating an irresistible offer.

What if You Aren’t Aware of the Problems Your Target Audience Faces? 

Knowing the problems your dream customers face is a key element in becoming an offer achiever. I’ve found that he who can best describe the problem you are having is also assumed to have the solution. Once people hear you spell-out their challenges, they connect with you. Then, they want to know you, like you, trust you, and buy from you. And if you can describe their pain, they assume you can also provide the solution.

And, the best way I’ve found to define a problem is through an ask campaign, a way to find out what your customers want before you create it. Essentially, you simply ask your tribe, “What are your greatest challenges/most pressing questions/top problems with [insert topic here]?” And, you can launch an ask campaign at any stage of the funnel. 

For example, if you’re just getting started creating a new offer to an audience, you might ask on social media or in forums. Then, if you’re trying to upsell non-buyers on your list, ask them via email or on your Facebook page. And, finally, when you want to upsell buyers to a higher-ticket backend offer, ask those on your email list tagged as buyers.

If you want to know the answer, you have to ask the question.

Note: An ask campaign is not the same as a poll, and here’s why — a poll can limit answers to a handful of preset values. When your audience is forced to select A, B, C, or D, you miss out on the opportunity to blow your competitors out of the water. It may turn out that answer E, something you never thought of before, ends up being the top challenge people face. In that case, you would want to create an offer that solves problem E better than anyone else has.  

Where Are Your Dream Customers Hanging Out?

I know you’ve heard this before, but it is imperative. So I want to remind you: get in front of your dream customers! 

I run a coaching business and when I wanted to get more eyeballs on my offer, I had to discover where my dream clients hang out. When you find out where your target audience is, you need to be there so you can interact with them. 

Some of my ideal clients hang out on Facebook. Other dream clients conduct online searches to find answers to their questions. And, the final segment is on YouTube searching for “how to” do this and “how to” do that. 

When I found where my people were and knew I had a working funnel, I increased my presence dramatically. And increased my Facebook ad spend from $25 per day to $75 (3x). I was able to use a combination of Facebook ads and Facebook groups to move traffic to my offer. I posted more videos on YouTube. I put additional effort into SEO for my blog. And, these actions have boosted my business tremendously. 

Tip: If you find yourself in an online group or forum that’s relevant to your offer, join, interact, and provide value by sharing your expertise, but never spam. 

Recommended Reading: This is How to Make Money on Facebook (A+ Tested Strategies)

Are You Getting Optimized Value From Your Digital Marketing Tools?

Remember when I told you that I was using outdated systems? Well, don’t make the same mistake I did. If you use tools that don’t fully optimize your processes, you end up with unnecessary holes in your operations. 

And, when there are holes in your operations, you spend way too much time trying to plug them. The alternative is to enable fully-automated, streamlined processes that decrease your workload and help you achieve results faster. 

Imagine that you want to build a bookshelf with your grandfather and he shows up at your house with a screwdriver in his hand. Well, you already have an electric drill. So, you tell him, “Hey, look, here is a way to get this done more quickly and easily.” Yes, an electric drill costs more, but it provides more value and is worthwhile. 

The same applies to the online tools and systems that you use. 

Previously, I was managing my website in WordPress with Optimize Press for my squeeze pages and One Shopping Cart for my shopping cart / merchant processor. It was difficult to communicate and nearly impossible to implement one-click upsells. 

Now, I use four key tools that I couldn’t work without and one that deserves an honorable mention: 

  1. ClickFunnels – This platform handles the sales funnels, merchant setup, membership fulfilment and is designed to create streamlined lead funnels. It generates about 90% of my business. The rest comes in via Kartra. It is a all in one platform.
  2. Stripe – ClickFunnels work together seamlessly. So, together, they create a really nice system that makes it easy to implement one-click upsells.
  3. ActiveCampaign – This is my favorite autoresponder. I’ve compared it to Drip, and find that it works well for me. Still, I recommend that you try a few to see which works best for you.
  4. Kartra – This merchant platform is really nice and presently generates about 10% of my business. It is also an all on one platform.

And, the honorable mention goes to Zapier. If not for the Zap, Connect ActiveCampaign to Google Sheets,  I wouldn’t be able to achieve the results that I have. I send out ask campaigns to people who join my Facebook group asking, “What is your biggest problem with X?” When they respond, the answers go into a Google Sheet. Then, the data is automatically sent to ActiveCampaign.

We have about 10 to 20 people per day request to join our Facebook group and thanks to this setup, we know their #1 problem and we gather their name and email into our nurture campaign. So how about that? We’re building a list, providing value, and doing an ask campaign all at once.

Zapier ActiveCampaign to Google Sheets

So, with the help of this Zap, when I talk to someone on my list, I know exactly what to say to them and how to help them. 

When I first implemented the tools here, I wasn’t dialed-in all the way. But, what was great is that these modern platforms make things like split testing easy. And, when you optimize one feature at a time, you can find out what works and what doesn’t work about your funnel. If you’re running ads, you must run a/b split tests to optimize. 

In digital marketing, an opt-in conversion rate above 30% is pretty good (and this varies by industry). Using the split testing that the above tools offer, I was able to get my conversion rate to 52%. I tested headlines, hooks, and CTAs (calls to action) to discover what works for my audience. 

As my system became more effective, it was rewarding. Each time a sale came through, I started to get push notifications on my phone, “You’ve received $47.” Then, 30 seconds later, “You’ve received $197.” My mouth watered like Pavlov’s dog and I wanted to keep working at it. 

You have to do all this work with the belief things are going to work out. But, until it happens, you don’t really know how exciting it’s going to be. Once these sales started to come in, something “clicked” and with that excitement I doubled down on what was working. 

Why I Use More Than One Merchant Platform

As you can see in the above list, I use both ClickFunnels and Kartra, which basically serve the same purpose. And, people ask me why all the time. I have more than one house (I still like to invest in real estate), more than one car (I actually still have the first car I ever bought when I turned 18), and more than one income stream. While this might seem excessive to some, it just makes sense to me. 

There’s a method to my madness. In general, I don’t like to have all of my eggs in one basket. If one of these systems were to crash temporarily or go out of business completely, I don’t want to have to hustle to move my databases to a new platform or lose all of my income in the interim. 

If your river runs dry, you need to find another water source. And, if it takes long to get to your destination, you might completely dehydrate yourself. 

I run my business through more than one  merchant platform. I’m not necessarily recommending that you do this because I believe it’s a personal preference. But, I do want you to think about it. I heard of too many people complaining that their merchant account got frozen (due to sudden growth or too many chargebacks, etc) and i wanted to have more than one seasoned merchant account in the unlikely event this ever happens.

Should You Hire Staff or Stick With the Solopreneur Workstyle?

Some people prefer to work alone. They like to learn every system and solve every problem that they encounter. And, while this will create intelligence and aptitude, it won’t necessarily create wealth. 

I have a staff. About once a year, I spend money (maybe around $500) on help from developers hired through Codeable. I regularly work with a virtual assistant (overseas), an SEO, and a writer who are contractors and freelancers who work on a 1099 or through Upwork

Outsource Work to Freelancers

There will be a learning curve when you grow from a solopreneur to an employer. For example, at one point, I hired three writers who I thought were the very best writers on the Upwork platform. One was sort of flaky. Another ditched out and became unresponsive. But, the third is still working with me and delivers great results. 

Take my advice: don’t stay up until 3:00 am trying to solve problems and fix systems that don’t work, which is what I used to do. Instead, get on Upwork, pay $50, and get someone to help you. Your time is too valuable!

The Magic of Charging More for Your Offer

Some people have guilt about charging more for their products and services — I know I did. But, when I decided to bump up my prices for training and coaching, I found a surprising truth: when you charge more for your offer you can provide a better service to your clients, which brings them a better result from hiring you.

After my prices increased and I was able to find a working formula, I put a lot more chips on the table. I hired a better writer, account managers, and higher-quality help. This led to enhanced support, production, and service. Everyone is happier when you provide superior value. 

Are You Ready to Take the Next Step? 

If you’re ready to take the next step, here’s your homework: 

  1. Let go of your sabotaging beliefs and understand that you can work less to earn more by becoming an offer-achiever. 
  2. Go buy your competitors’ products and study them. 
  3. Create a product or service that blows everyone else out of the water. 
  4. Learn to implement a self-liquidating offer. 
  5. Scale your efforts. 

And, if you want a bit more support, sign up for our free training about how to earn passive income online. 

A Full Kartra Review 2020: Pricing Plans, Features, and Comparisons

So, you’re thinking about adding Kartra to your marketing toolbelt and you want to know if it’s a good idea. Well, this is a platform that I use in my business, and I’m here to tell you everything I know to help you decide if it’s right for you. So, here’s a comprehensive Kartra review. 

Here, you’ll find answers to the following questions: 

  • Who uses Kartra and is it a CRM?  
  • How much is Kartra monthly with available plans?
  • What features can you leverage and how are they presented? 
  • Is it the best platform on the market for your needs? 
  • What is Kartra agency?… and more

If you’re ready to learn everything above and then some, read this full review of Kartra now.     

Kartra reviews
Real Kartra reviews from Capterra users.

[Kartra reviews from Capterra users]

First, What is Kartra? 

Kartra is an all-in-one marketing platform with CRM-capabilities, but it is more than that. It’s used by beginning and advanced online business owners to build lead funnels, sell products and services.

From start to finish, Kartra is designed to help you create, launch, and maintain complex marketing campaigns. The system can help you attract leads, create customers, and process sales transactions. Learn more about the specific features below. 

Next, Kartra Pricing: How Much Does it Cost?  

Kartra pricing plans vary in cost based on the selected features. You will pay between $79 and $499 per month with annual discounts for a Starter, Silver, Gold, or Platinum account. 

Kartra pricing packages are discounted up to 25% when you pay annually. And, you can cancel, scale, or switch from monthly to annual pricing at any time. 

And, here’s a simpler look at Kartra’s pricing plans. 

What does Kartra cost monthly?

Kartra Agency is open to users of the top three pricing tiers. This feature enables you to manage multiple marketing campaigns from one dashboard and is especially valuable for marketing service providers who would like to leverage Kartra to help their clients.  

What does Kartra cost?

Then, What Kartra Features Can You Take Advantage of?

As stated, Kartra is an all-in-one platform. But, from a software perspective, that could mean anything. So, what functionalities does the system offer? Here’s what you’ll get: 

1. Checkouts

The platform can enable you to sell your products and services by processing payments directly from your website pages. Offer your clients and customers the freedom of paying via credit or PayPal on one-time sales, subscriptions, and installments. 

Furthermore, the checkout feature allows you to easily establish automated free and low-cost trials or initial setup fees. You can streamline pricing and coupons for individual customers, freeze subscriptions, and edit payment options. 

Financial reports in Kartra

Plus, you can configure upsells, down-sells, cross-sells, and order bumps. And, payments are tracked so that you can create thorough reports to understand your business finances. 

Customer Value Tracking

One of my favorite features of Kartra is the lifetime value (LTV) tracking or, as Kartra calls it, “Customer Value.” So, if you acquire a new member, client, or customer and you make $50 from them on day one and another $50 on day 7, the Customer Value or LTV will be $100. The platform will find your average LTV for you from the total of all customers.   

You can then use this number to determine your maximum price per customer for acquisition. So, if each customer is worth $100, and you spend about $25 to acquire that customer, you would have made $75. Use this feature to set an informed marketing budget. 

2. Pages 

In just a few minutes, you can design landing pages from over 500 templates in a simple drag and drop builder. You can also choose to build pages from scratch if you have the instincts for good design, so there’s quite a bit of freedom. 

Create landing pages

And, each page element can be customized (fonts, colors, etc.) and is responsive. You won’t be limited to what you can achieve. 

3. Leads

As you build your list, you will be able to manage individual profiles along with their history with your business. Add notes, create segments, collect data, and deliver an enhanced user experience on a case-by-case basis. 

Build a robust lead list

This feature establishes CRM, support, sales, and marketing possibilities in a customized and holistic environment. Track each customer’s journey for data to power your sales marketing campaigns. 

In addition, the system will automatically score leads and customers, providing insights about who your best customers and clients are. This feature is as good as any other CRM or customer support software I’ve tried.

4. Funnels & Campaigns

From within the platform, you can create and launch complete sales funnels in under an hour. Connect your original content, use plug-and-play campaigns, or import campaigns from other users for multi-page flows, email sequences with if/then automations, and lead-tagging to drive sales.

The drag and drop sequence builder in the platform allows you to create funnels as simple or complex as you need them to be. And, your leads are tracked each step of the journey. 

Campaign marketplace

Moreover, you can sell your campaign ideas in a designated marketplace for an additional income stream while you help others with your knowledge.  

5. Mail and SMS

Automate your email sequences to send leads through your sales funnels and convert more site visitors. Features include behavior-based automations, intelligent split-testing, beautiful templates, and customization tags. 

The platform’s if/then automations are robust. Segment your lists based on subscriber behavior to ensure that the right people get the right messages at the right time. And, you can queue both email and SMS. 

Email campaign tracking

Plus, you can monitor the success of your campaigns based on opens, clicks, goals, revenue ratios, and unsubscribe rates. Using these insights, you can optimize your communication campaigns to continually deliver better results. 

6. Memberships

Run your knowledge business using the memberships features that Kartra offers. You can deliver training materials with ease inside the system. Structure lessons with beautiful templates and colors using an easy-to-use drag and drop interface. 

Use Memberships to drip content over time based-on when a user signed up and how far through your funnel they’ve made it. You can create multiple memberships tiers for enhanced control over user experience and results. 

Build a membership platfrom

And, gamification features like leaderboards, progress, and points can improve your retention rates. 

7. Videos

The system’s video players are pretty great and provide everything you need to create personalized videos with watermark branding that you have a high level of control over. For example, you can enable your videos to autoplay or mute on load. And, you can remove video player controls if you want to force play on certain pages. 

Control how visitors view your videos

The best part, though, is that you can tag users based on watch behavior. For example, anyone who makes it through 60% of your video might be tagged “watched X video.” Use this feature to segment your lists further than what’s possible with email segmentation alone. 

8. Helpdesks

Give your customers and clients an outstanding support experience without the need for additional tools. Multiple agents can collaborate inside the dashboard for an enhanced support experience. 

Deliver excellent customer support

Customers can be filtered into categories and sent to specific departments quickly. Plus, the helpdesk is integrated with billing so support agents with permission can process payments for your users via live chat and email. 

9. Calendars

Calendars can streamline meeting schedules. Brand your calendar with your logo, configure your schedule, and allow clients and customers to schedule calls with you. The system will automatically configure timezones and currencies for convenience. 

If you have multiple hosts, it won’t be a problem because the calendar can also be configured to work around multiple admin’s schedules at one time and find the right person for consultations, meetings, and phone calls. 

10. Forms

Choose from over 50 GDPR-compliant form templates for various uses: contact, subscription, etc. Build your newsletter lists and give traffic a way to submit personal information that will be stored in the platform along with the rest of your lead and customer data.

Create stunning forms

Match your branding and convert more readers with Kartra’s responsive forms. 

11. Affiliates

If you’re interested in establishing your own affiliate program, Kartra can help. Manage all of your affiliates from one tab in your dashboard to see who helped you convert what and how much. 

Manage your own affiliate program

This eliminates the need for you to establish an account with Rakuten or another mass affiliate platform, which can potentially weed out applicants who may not be serious. And, you don’t have to create your own applications or terms because Kartra has templates you can use for this. 

And, What is it Like to Use the Platform? 

When you first sign up for a Kartra account, you will be taken to a thank you page that tells you exactly what steps to take next. And, these instructions are especially relevant since some of the most important emails may end up in your junk folder.  

You’ll soon be directed to your Kartra login then a video that promises to be “one of the most powerful videos you’ve ever watched” and set the stage for newfound success. 

Kartra video: How to get out of your own way and pursue your ultimate dream

This video, titled ‘How to Get Out of Your Own Way and Pursue Your Ultimate Dream,’ is about an hour long and features a motivational presentation — there’s smoke and fire and excitement. And, while it’s not completely related to the software, it is hyper-relevant to a marketing audience. 

At this stage, you’ll know that your experience is going to be entertaining if nothing else. 

As soon as you log in to your dashboard, the system will walk you through the platform features with easy-to-follow videos. They recommend that you move through their onboarding system in sequential order, which will teach you how to use all points of the system without getting lost along the way. 

How do you use Kartra?

Step-by-step, you will make your way through the platform and come out on the other side with an understanding of each feature the platform has to offer. 

Kartra Academy: FAQs, Q&A, Strategies, Tutorials, & Training 

In addition to the user dashboard, Kartra comes with several bonuses. Kartraverse is the platform’s training and tutorial platform, unavailable to trial users. You will be able to access these modules once you’ve paid to use the platform after your trial ends.   

Kartra Bonuses: Kartraverse Training Modules

Kartranaut Training Program and Kartra Academy will teach you how to use the platform and implement marketing campaigns for optimized results. 

In the Kartra Academy, you will find a typical software knowledgebase that includes frequently asked questions, tips, and platform tutorials. Furthermore, you will gain access to a weekly Q&A with the greatest minds behind the system. 

Finally, How Does Kartra Stack-Up to Other Platforms? 

The last thing you need to know about the platform before you sign up is how it compares to other platforms. And, two top competitors are ClickFunnels and Kajabi. So, side-by-side how do these tools compare? 

Kartra vs ClickFunnels vs Kajabi

If you want to focus on funnels, you may want to choose a more established platform that is sure to have all of the features you need to build a fully-optimized lead flow. But, if you’re looking for a robust system that seems to be expanding at a pretty rapid pace, you’ll probably prefer Kartra. 

Recommended Reading: 


Is Kartra worth it? In my opinion, yes! The system is well worth every penny I’ve spent on it. And, I highly recommend it. However, you will need to decide whether or not you need a full-featured marketing platform or there’s a better option for your needs. If you’re interested in finding out if this solution is right for you, try Kartra for just $1 for 14 days.

Related Questions: 

Is Kartra a CRM? 

Kartra can be used for CRM processes but offers more features than the typical customer relationship management system: Checkout, pages, leads, funnels & campaigns, mail, memberships, videos, helpdesk, calendar, forms, affiliates, and more.  

What is Kartra Agency? 

Kartra Agency is a feature that can be used by Kartra users to manage multiple client accounts. It is available with Silver, Gold, and Platinum accounts.  

Does Kartra have an app? 

There is no Kartra app for iOS or Android marketplaces. But, Kartra does integrate with other tools. So, you can use the tools in tandem with other marketing apps that you use. 

How do I cancel my Kartra subscription? 

How to cancel Kartra: login to your Kartra account and select Billing from the top right dropdown menu. Scroll down until you see your plan and click the red Cancel link. When prompted, confirm that you want to cancel your account. You will be able to reactivate your account at any time. 

How much does Kartra cost? 

Kartra costs between $99 and $499, depending on which features you need and offers discounts on annual plans to save users between $240 and $1,440 per year. 

Who uses Kartra? 

Online business owners who want an all-in-one marketing solution to sell their products and services use Kartra. The platform is equally-geared toward beginners and seasoned users.

7 Best Shopify Dropshipping Stores to Spark Your Creativity

Dropshipping is one of the most popular sales channels for Shopify retailers. I mean, who wouldn’t want to start a business from the ground up while never laying a hand on inventory? I sure would.

So, why isn’t everyone launching a dropshipping store? To some, the cons outweigh the pros and this is a sales strategy to steer clear of. But, some sellers are rocking their online sales, making money on Shopify. Let’s see what we can learn from satisfied drop-ship merchants who host their stores on the platform. 

First, What are the Pros and Cons of Dropshipping?

All types of retail have a unique set of advantages and disadvantages. When it comes to dropshipping, here’s what you can expect. 

Advantages of Dropshipping

Why do some sellers choose to ship directly from the supplier to the customer? In summary, here are the benefits:

  • Low Financial Risks
    • Low-Cost Startup
    • Low Inventory Investment
    • Low Fulfillment Costs
  • Enables Sellers to Test More Products
  • Simple to Launch
  • No Need to Manage Stock
  • No Storage Fees
  • Generally High Cash Flow
  • Easily Scalable

Disadvantages of Dropshipping

And, why do other sellers prefer other online retail methods? Here are the drawbacks:

  • Lack of Control Over Fulfillment
  • Complicated and Often Slow Shipping
  • Small Profit Margins Per Sale
  • Low Customer Satisfaction
  • Lack of Quality Control
  • Highly Competitive
  • High Risk of Stock Shortage
  • High Fulfillment Costs

For sellers who choose a dropship retail strategy, the pros outdo the cons. If you want to launch a store that leverages dropship suppliers, you need to know what other successful merchants do to maintain success — what tools they use, what tactics they employ, and what products they sell. 

Next, What are the Most Popular Dropship Apps for Shopify Stores? 

There quite a few dropship apps to work with inside the Shopify platform. Choosing the right one can be a challenge. Here are a couple of the most popular apps and a summary of what you can expect with each. 

App #1: Oberlo


If you want instant access to thousands of products available for drop shipping, Oberlo can be helpful. The app gives users access to unique resources for automation and scalability; this brand is truly dedicated to helping users succeed. 

Oberlo is competitively priced, with a free plan that allows up to 500 products. From there, you will pay $29.90 per month for up to 10,000 products or $79.90 for up to 30,000 products. 

oberlo pricing

Oberlo suppliers are connected through AliExpress. So, there are over 100 million products to choose from. You can pretty much find any product you can think of. 

App #2: Modalyst


Modalyst is steadily gaining popularity as a dropshipping app by sellers in several niches. One main perk is that they boast “fast shipping.” And, many suppliers are domestic rather than international. So, 5-7 day delivery is what you can expect, which is exceptional in this line of work. 

Modalyst is a little more expensive than Oberlo with a 25-product limit on their free plan. After that, you will pay $35 per month for up to 250 products or $90 per month for unlimited products. 

modalyst pricing

Modalyst suppliers must apply directly through the platform, which currently works with over 650 brands in a handful of categories: 

  • Apparel & Accessories
    • Women’s
    • Men’s, 
    • Children’s 
  • Home
  • Lifestyle
  • Beauty

The platform doesn’t offer the same volume of inventory as nor a comparable category list, but their suppliers are more carefully vetted than Oberlo’s. 

Now, Let’s Look at Some Sellers Who Are Killing it & What We Can Take Away From Their Online Sales Strategies

Now that you have an idea of which app might be best for your dropshipping store and understand the pros and cons of dropshipping, look here. Below are seven successful Shopify dropshipping stores with specific takeaways. Finally, it’s time to get inspired. 

1. Hippie G. Rockstar (Shopify + Oberlo)

hippie g rockstar with shopify and oberlo

Hippie G. Rockstar sells trendy accessories for men and women. And, the great deals make this store a hipster’s paradise. 

Takeaway: Make Buyers Feel Like They’re Getting Something for Free

free hat

Here, you can see an offer for a free hat. The buyer only pays to ship the item from $8-12 dollars. No doubt the seller’s costs are low enough that a profit is being made.

If you can make a customer feel like they’re getting an exceptional deal, you’re sure to land more sales.  

2. Verbena Sky Boutique (Shopify + Modalyst)

Verbena Sky Boutique

Verbena Sky Boutique offers name brand bags & wallets, jewelry, and decor for domestic shoppers. The elite selection makes this store every diva’s dream. 

Takeaway: Show Images of Your Products in Real-Life Scenarios 

product showcase

Above is an example of what happens when you scroll over a product image on the Verbena Sky website. At first glance, shoppers see stock images. Then, when their cursor hovers over a product they’re interested in, a picture of the product in a real-life scenario takes over. 

Shoppers want to see authentic pictures before they buy products online. So, when you can, figure out a way to give that to them. Hire models, take at-home photos, or run a UGC campaign

3. Pug You (Shopify + Oberlo)

pug you

Pug You is for pug lovers only. And, this elite group of shoppers gets to feel special and understood as they browse the entire store. 

Takeaway: Choose a Hyper-Targeted Online Store Niche

targeted store niche

Another great idea for dropshippers is to choose a super-targeted niche for their products. In doing so, they can stand out from the competition. Pug You offers products for the pug dog breed and their owners. When searching for a gift for the pug lover in your life, where else would you shop? 

4. Shop Chriss Zoe (Shopify + Modalyst)

Shop Chriss Zoe is a women’s clothing and accessories store. The website’s above-the-fold appeal is on-point for their target shoppers. Plus, the brand knows how to sell. 

Takeaway: Give Your Shoppers Every Opportunity to Make a Purchase


Shop Chriss Zoe uses AfterPay to entice shoppers to convert, even if they might not have the funds right now (which is an especially useful tactic for dropshipping stores whose products are higher up on the price scale). It works well here, and you can easily mimic the tactic by installing a financing app like AfterPay on your Shopify store. 

5. The Golden Galleon (Shopify + Oberlo)

golden galleon

The Golden Galleon appeals to the fantasy nerd in people like me. WIth accessory collections from some of the most popular sci-fi and fantasy series, they’ve powered their online sales. 

Takeaway: Pull Shoppers Into Their Favorite Fantasies

favorite fantasies

The product selection on The Golden Gallion is out-of-this-world. By selling items that make a specific niche of shoppers feel like they’re in their favorite fantasy realm, you might be able to sell more. Focus on the story your customers want to be in, then deliver a product catalog that pulls them into it.  

6. Ga. (Shopify + Modalyst)

Ga Shopify and modalyst

Ga. doesn’t have the best site layout I’ve ever seen. But, their men’s accessories are selling in a high enough volume to keep the doors open. How do you think they’re doing that? 

Takeaway: Offer Something Outside-the-Box

offer outside the box

How many other stores can you go to where you can purchase ancient Egyptian, Christian, and electrician jewelry in one place. If you keep your product offering unique, you have yet another chance to stand out from would-be competitors. 

7. Blue Firefly Design (Shopify + Oberlo)

blue firefly design

Blue Firefly Design sells pendants. You’ll have to see them for yourself. 

Takeaway: Sometimes Simplicity is on Your Side

Compared to Ga., Blue Firefly Design doesn’t have a ton of imagery on their simple Shopify theme. They have no text overlay in their headers nor advertised promotions. Instead, they sell pendants in a few categories. And, this works well for them. So, before you go thinking you need all the bells and whistles Shopify has to offer, look at your operations. And, if it’s not broken, don’t fix it. K.I.S.S.: Keep It Simple, Stupid. 

Final Thoughts

No dropship retailer has the perfect strategy. But, if you want to scale your store, you need to be informed. The information above should give you ideas about whether you want to open a dropshipping store and which tools and strategies you may want to implement. And, if you haven’t already, head over to Shopify for your free trial today.